Mixing It Up: Music Choices

I’m not sure about you guys, but when I hit the gym, I try to do everything I can to maximize that day’s workout.  An integral part of that for me is my music selection.  Whether I am working on my Oly lifts that day, power lifting, WODing, etc etc etc I have certain bands that flip the beast mode switch for me and send me Super Saiyan.  Today I wanted to share some of my favorites in hopes that maybe I can broaden your musical horizons, or at very least get you busting out a few more reps,  lifting a few more pounds, or burn a few more calories than yesterdays workout.  So here they are!

Power Lifting:

For power lifting, I find slow to mid-tempo stuff to work best.  It’s got to be heavy and it’s got to be angry.

Bands to Check out: The Acacia Strain, American Me, The Abominable Iron Sloth, Bongripper (check out Hail and try to tell me you didn’t start to bob your head to the beat)

WODs/AMRAP/Rounds/etc:

Anything I do at high intensity for time has to have some fast, loud and heavy music accompaniment. These bands are great when you need the tempo to match your work output.

Bands to check out: Terror, Trap Them, Converge, Disfear

General Good Stuff:

The Minor Times, Extermination Dismemberment, Devourment, Bacchus, Cursed

Converge+DSC_7411Edit2

Got some personal favorites? Share them with the rest of us so we can check them out!

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

