Elevation Masks: Elevating the Suck

My good friend Michael Sawyer was kind enough to let me borrow his Elevation Mask a while back and I just hadn’t gotten around to trying it out.  Finally, I decided today was a good day to give it a go.  It was quite the experience.

elev-2

My workout today consisted of:

Strength:

5×5 Deadlift

5×5 Bent Over Row

3×10 Zercher Sandbag Goodmorning

Conditioning:

30 Sandbag High Pull/Burpees for time followed by

30 TRX Atomic Pushups for time.

I wore the mask for all of the exercises and only took it off after all my sets of a given exercise were finished or if I absolutely had to get more oxygen.  All in all, it made the entire lifting session exhausting.  My heart rate was through the roof for the entirety of the workout.  I would NOT recommend this product for someone with a low to moderate amount of cardio.  This is for higher level athletes for sure.

Also, for anyone who has asthma like myself, you’ll experience similar feelings to an asthma attack if you really try to push the envelope.

If you’ve got the base amount of conditioning in, I would definitely say give this a shot.  If nothing else, it will add a new variable to your workouts and hopefully spice things up for you. Enjoy!!

-Colin

“Make your weaknesses your greatest strengths”

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

