12 days out: Prepping for Battle!

Hey guys, so as I mentioned in my post yesterday, I will be competing in a CrossFit competition on June 2nd called Battle in the Burn.    Again, if you are interested in testing your athletic capacity, I STRONGLY encourage you to give this a shot! You can register here: Battle in the Burn hosted by Burn City CrossFit.  Great dudes, great community.

Battle in the Burn

To prepare for this event, I have tailored a specific program designed to increase performance in certain key areas I know will be vital in the competition.  My day today looked a little something like this:

Front Squat 5×5: 205 / 225 / 225/ 225/ 225

Lat Pulldown 3×15: weight plate 8 / 9 / 8

Depth Jumps: 3×15

Standing Row 3×15: weight plate 8 / 8 / 8

WOD A: 10 GHD Situp / 10 Depth Jumps / 10 Pullups / 10 Military press  REPEAT X5

WOD B: “Angie” 100 pullups / 100 pushups / 100 situps / 100 squats for time.  Completed in 19:00.

To summarize, well… just take a look at the aftermath:

Angie Aftermath

Yeah, today was a rough one, but well worth it.  Now it’s time to sit back with a good book (Kelly Starrett’sBecoming a Supple Leopard“….if you haven’t gotten yet, what are you waiting for?!?! This thing is a treasure trove of invaluable knowledge!! Go get it! Now!) and recover.

suppleleopardbook

Oh and Ps, I am not sponsored by anyone or paid to promote anything.  I do it because I FIRMLY believe in these people or these products.  My goal is to make everyone around me better, and if it takes referring you to people more knowledgable than myself, then that is what’s going to happen!

Take care everyone and see you at the Battle!

-Weakness into Strength-

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

