11 Days out: Training Hard

Hey guys, so after forcing myself to curmudgeonly get out of bed this morning, I realized just how unbelievably sore I was!  Simple things like: sitting up, breathing, thinking; they all hurt! Unfortunately, today was not a scheduled rest day.  So rest I did not.  Instead, I combated my insufferable wuss-itude with a frienemy of mine: the lacrosse ball.  I smashed and flossed with that sucker and felt like a new man after.  I can not even begin to describe the multitude of benefits athletes, gym-goers, humans in general can receive from some good ole’ recovery/preventative maintenance work in their down time.  I went from barely being able to walk to this:

That’s just a little look inside my training for the upcoming Battle in the Burn hosted by Burn City CrossFit.  If you haven’t checked them out yet… you know what, just do it.  Anyways, here’s what my workout ended up looking like today:

Deadlift 5×5: 300 /305 /325 / 350 / 350 (x3)

Bench 3×15: 135 / 135 (x13) / 135 (9) + 95 (x12)

Good Mornings 3×15: 95 / 95 / (zercher styler) 95

Shoulder Bar Complex x3 @ 45 lbs:  5 Military Press, 8 Push Press, 10 Push Jerks

WOD: Tabata: Jump Rope / Mountain Climbers / Bike / Rower

Really focused on my hip hinge movements and my pressing movements considering yesterday was heavy on knee dominant movements and pulling.  Both workouts seem to compliment each other very well.  I won’t say that these are perfect in the least as  there are several components I am still lacking but in preparation for this competition, I have opted to stick to main lifts and things that I think will benefit me the most at the competition.  Finishing with the tabata sucked though….those are never fun.  Don’t let people fool you, they’re rough…but so worth it!

Take care everyone!! -Colin

IMG_8695

-Weakness into Strength-

Posted on May 24, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

